I Picked My House Project For January!

Posted on Updated on

What!  Yes…I decided which project I am going to do in January.  I know a lot of people like to get stuff done before the holidays, but I’ve learned that I would rather enjoy preparing for holiday festivities (and other years I have rushed to do projects before the holidays only to end up with the project running behind which only equals more stress!).  This way I enjoy the holidays and look forward to a project in January when I have less to do and contractors are more available.  So, I thought it would be fun to do this together and I would love your feedback!  I am going to share the area that needs to be improved and show you how I go though pictures and gather my ideas.   When I talk to my contractor or go shopping, my ideas are ready to go!  Often, the pictures are not the exact images of my ideas, but I may like the “feel” of a room or an item from one picture that I can add to another idea.  Sometimes, the room may have one small element that I like but not have the “look” I am going for.

So here it goes!  This area is my sitting room off the master bedroom.  When we built the master bedroom addition, we opened this space up which was formerly a bedroom.  We removed the wall adjacent to the hallway and installed an open railing, making this an open sitting / office / tv room.  This has become my favorite work area because it is very quiet and no one touches the computer but me, so I can start projects and leave my work out.   We painted last year and I didn’t replace any pictures. The desk is much too small and I have a new vision for this area!  I think the desk should be replaced with a built in work area with bookcases and cabinets.  I also would like to make the empty walls a gallery for our family photos.  The family photo gallery idea overwhelms me but I’m doing it!  I think it will be great to be surrounded by all my favorite pictures!

I have collected all of my built in desk ideas on my Office Ideas Pinterest Board which you can view, add to and comment on. All of my photo gallery ideas are also on my Gallery Picture Ideas Pinterest Board which you can do the same. This is how I collect ideas and get inspired to complete my projects!

2 thoughts on “I Picked My House Project For January!

    Wendy Stocum said:
    December 3, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    Love that you are sharing your design process. I am redoing our loft area to make it my office. Look forward to seeing your progress. Wendy

      cathy608 responded:
      December 3, 2013 at 10:23 pm

      Wendy,
      Send me your ideas too! Sounds like we are doing similar projects! Cathy

Leave a Reply

